College House Energy Consumption

For my project I will be looking at how to conserve energy at my already energy inefficient downtown house. The main goal of this project is to reduce energy waste in the house that I share with four other roomates. Although it is nice to save energy, the main reason I’am doing this is to save a little money each month on our gas and electric bills. I have been doing a little research on energy saving tips and I plan to put these into action in my house, and hopefully see a positive outcome. However, like energy consumption around the world, I wont see much change unless my other roomates participate in my conservation efforts. I hope to teach them as well some tips and tricks so we can all make a positive difference in our world together. I want to be able to compare previous electricity and gas bill to the ones preceding my project.

2 responses to “College House Energy Consumption

  1. katelynyoungblood

    After reading your post, I realized that our projects are fairly similar. I’m looking into how to make housing more sustainable, and a big part of that is energy conservation. I found a great organization that has laid out rules and certifications for green housing–hopefully it will be helpful to your project! http://www.usgbc.org/DisplayPage.aspx?CMSPageID=1988

  2. Chris, there is lots of information and resources out there on ways to save energy around the house. Do you think lack of awareness is the reason folks don’t save energy? What do you think are the major roadblocks to energy conservation? Will your project be able to address these?

Leave a comment