Project Proposal-Art Therapy

My Project is to paint a landscape painting and donate it to a hospital to be put in a patient recovery room. When doing my research I found several scholarly articles about how installations of artwork and paintings in hospitals or hospital rooms can help a patient recover faster as it creates a more positive, happy environment. I think that although putting one piece of art in one hospital is a small scale way of making the world a better place, I believe putting this one painting in one room will help thousands of patients have a better recovery. Even though it is just one room, every patient who ever stays in that room will see the painting and hopefully experience a better recovery and over time, this will have added up to helping a huge amount of patients.

There are several reasons why I decided to do this Project including my love for painting and art, and my personal experiences with hospitals and recoveries. When Tom mentioned in lecture one day how landscape paintings in hospital rooms have helped patients with recovery, it sparked my interest immediately and I began researching from there. I have still yet to hear back from the hospital, but if I do not get an email back within a few days my plan is to take a bus down there and find out who I need to speak with to put my plan into action. If the UW hospital turns me down, I plan on trying other hospitals in the surrounding area such as St. Mary’s. I think my project will make the world a better place because having been through two surgeries, I know how difficult recovery can be, and anything to speed the process or make it smoother will help the lives of many people and hopefully improve their quality of life.

This is a painting I started a while ago that I may use if the hospital approves my project.

Leave a comment