Final post part three: the Christmas tree

The next part was to make a christmas tree out of cardboard boxes. This is of my own design and is proudly displayed in my dorm room.

view from the top of the tree

To get started I opened all the boxes were it was connected with glue. I then pressed them flat for a while while I washed out three cans and a Snapple jug.

what i mean by opening the boxes

As those dried, I took two boxes of the same size and glued them together to make a cross shape. I made six layers of boxes that were different sizes (except the two levels of Ritz cracker boxes). I then attached each level. Level one (Honey Nut Cheerios boxes) I cut a hole around the middle an put it around the top of the Snapple jug. Level two (Special K boxes) I supper glued the boxes to the cover to the Snapple jug.

attachment

I then attached one of the cans in the middle of the second level. The third level was then attached to the top of that. This is conntinued until we get to the second to last level (Whales Cracker boxes). On top of that layer I attached a tape roll center and then added the sixth layer. The last part was adding a small top to give the tree a point. for this I used one box and cut it into a christmas tree shape. It is then connected together to make it have four sides. All parts are connected by super glue to keep the tree stable.

top of the tree

This part of the project was fun and it did not take that much time at all. The longest part was waiting for the cans and jug to dry after I washed them. It also was fun to bring the  Christmas spirit into my project.

Leave a comment