Sustainability Project

Currently the project I am pursuing is increasing educational resources for post-consumer composting on campus, specifically focusing on increasing effectiveness, labeling, and general education at Union South.  There are two major steps I will need to tackle in the upcoming weeks in order to achieve this goal.  The first is to continue my own education of post-consumer composting strategies, focusing on large-scale collection methods, as well as any prior literature on effective education and awareness.  Secondly, I will need to contact Union South and figure out whom I should coordinate/talk to about the composting, as well as determining their current strategy (if any).  In doing so, hopefully we can establish a more meaningful and successful system to collect and dispose of the compost.

2 responses to “Sustainability Project

  1. Hey Jeff – this is great. Have you talked much with Julie about common resources? You’re both working on compost. You might also look through the directory of student orgs on campus http://cfli.wisc.edu/928.htm and see if any might have some useful information or social leverage that would help.

    • I haven’t talked to Julie about this, but I have met with Carl Korz who is in charge of the composting initiative at Union South. We discussed that the best way for me to increase education of composting is to actually volunteer time and assist people with deciding the proper place to put garbage. Hopefully before Thanksgiving I can meet again with and set up actual times for me to do the volunteering. I’ll talk to Julie and see if she’d be interested in volunteering with me…? Thanks for the input though, I’ll have to contact her to collaborate! See you on Friday. – Jeff

Leave a comment